

The Pipe Bands' Association of Southern Africa

Minutes of the 43rd Annual General Meeting held at St Benedict's College and Online on Sunday 30 October 2022

Present (In Person)	
Greg Hurly	: PBASA President\Knysna & Districts Pipe Band
Robert du Toit	: PBASA Vice President\Benoni MacTalla Pipe Band
Alan Leesam	: PBASA Treasurer
Rory Bellingan	: PBASA Executive Committee\African Skye Pipe Band
Andy Dippenaar	: PBASA Executive Committee
Anthony Evans	: PBASA Executive Committee\St Benedict's College Pipe Band\ Transvaal Scottish Pipes & Drums
Joshua Hogg	: PBASA Executive Committee\De La Salle Pipe Band
Rosemary Attwell	: PBASA Recorder
Herbie Campbell	: Benoni MacTalla Pipe Band
Malcolm Chadwick	: St Benedict's College Pipe Band\Transvaal Scottish Pipes & Drums
Roger Davies	: Spirit of Richmond Pipe Band
Brendon Fourie	: Kempton Park Pipe Band
Peter Gibbs	: African Skye Pipe Band
Gordon Grossett	: St Benedict's College Pipe Band\Transvaal Scottish Pipes & Drums
Adrian Haddow	: Knysna & Districts Pipe Band
Graham Hide	: African Skye Pipe Band
Ross Olive	: Jeppe Pipe Band
Lynne van den Berg	: PBASA Executive Committee\De La Salle Pipe Band
Present (Online)	
Ken Mustard	: PBASA Executive Committee\Durban Regiment Pipe Band
Graeme Fuller	: Durban Caledonian Society Pipe Band
Grant Scheffel	: PBASA Executive Committee\Nelson Mandela Pipes & Drums
Apologies	
Roy Blevins	: PBASA Adjudicators' Panel\Vaal Highland Gathering
lan Houston	: African Skye Pipe Band
Lucky Khumalo	: PBASA Adjudicators' Panel
Chris Mulinder	: PBASA Adjudicators' Panel

1. Welcome

• The President, Greg Hurly, opened the meeting at 09h30.

2. Minutes of last meeting

- Proposed :
- Seconded :

3. Matters Arising

• It was noted that issues arising from the minutes of the last Annual General Meeting would have been dealt with by the Executive Committee in their first meeting subsequent to the 2021 Annual General Meeting.

4. President's Report

• Please see attached.

5. Treasurer's Report

- The Treasurer, Alan Leesam, noted that, although there were some monies still owed to the Association at the end of the financial year, the Association's finances were in a healthy position.
- It was noted by Rory Bellingan that there was a commitment from the outstanding debtors to have their debts paid prior to the end of the current calendar year.
- The Annual Financial Statements as at 30 September 2022 are attached.

6. Membership, adjudicators and gathering fees

- Alan Leesam, on behalf of the Executive Committee, proposed the following fee changes for 2023.
 - Band annual subscription fee : R1 500 increased to R1 600
 - Non-playing member annual subscription fee : R120 increased to R130
 - Gathering Fees
 - Ordinary gathering : R1 200 increased to R1 300
 - Championship gathering : R1 500 increased to R1 600
 - Championship final gathering : R2 250 increased to R2 400
 - Band levy per gathering : R210 increased to R220
 - Adjudicators' Fees
 - One event : R110 to R120
 - Each additional event : R60 to R70
- The meeting agreed to all the above fee changes.

7. Grading for 2023

- Rory Bellingan reported that the only two changes made to the grading of bands for 2023 was as follows.
 - Knysna & Districts 'B' Pipe Band promoted to Grade 3.
 - African Skye 'B' Pipe Band granted permission to split into Grade 3 and Grade 4 bands.
 - \circ $\;$ The list of bands for 2023 as it currently stands is as follows.
 - Grade 2
 - African Skye
 - Benoni MacTalla
 - Durban Caledonian Society
 - Knysna & Districts
 - Spirit of Richmond
 - Transvaal Scottish
 - Grade 3
 - African Skye

- Cape Town Highlanders
- Knysna & Districts
- Pretoria Highlanders
- South African Irish
- Grade 4
 - African Skye
 - Autshumato Anti-Aircraft Regiment
 - Benoni
 - De La Salle Combined
 - Durban Caledonian Society
 - Durban Regiment
 - Kempton Park
 - King Edward VII
 - Nelson Mandela Artillery
 - Pietermaritzburg Caledonian
 - Pretoria Boys
 - St Andrew's
 - St John's (Zimbabwe)
 - Transvaal Scottish
- Novice Juvenile
 - Benoni
 - Jeppe
 - King Edward VII
 - Pretoria Boys
 - St Andrew's
 - St Benedict's
 - St John's (Zimbabwe) 'A'
 - St John's (Zimbabwe) 'B'
 - St John's (Zimbabwe) 'C'

8. Musical Requirements for 2023

- Rory Bellingan noted that the musical requirements for the respective grades for 2023 has not changed from 2022.
- A query was raised with respect to the single MSR requirement for Grade 2 instead of reverting back to the two MSR requirement of previous years. It was suggested that the Grading Committee revisit this.
- Please note that the Grading Committee met as soon as the AGM was adjourned, and the consensus was to uphold the single MSR requirement for Grade 2 for the 2023 season.

9. Contest Season for 2023

- Rory Bellingan noted that the 2023 Contest Season had not yet been finalised.
- The incoming Executive Committee was tasked with finalising the 2023 Calendar before the end of November.
- Issues raised with respect to contests which the incoming Executive Committee has been tasked with addressing.
 - o Beer Gardens
 - Toilet Facilities
 - Parking
 - Gazebos blocking view for Joe Public
 - Concert Formation
 - Alternate contests such as mini-bands and quartets

10. Constitution & Rules

• Rory Bellingan noted that there are currently no proposed changes to either the Constitution or Rules.

11. Election of office bearers

- During the nominations for the incoming Executive Committee, it was suggested that, perhaps, our current Executive Committee structure needed an overhaul and that, just nominating fresh faces was not possibly the answer.
- It was noted that any changes to the inherent structure of the Executive Committee would require a constitution change which was not possible within the current meeting.
- It was suggested that we look, in particular, at the Australian setup as well as avail ourselves of the current structures of other PBA organisations internationally.
- It was eventually agreed that the structure of the Executive Committee was not going to be resolved during the meeting.
- It was, therefore, decided, by the meeting, that the current Executive Committee, plus all those nominated on the day, would form an Interim Committee to investigate this further.
- The current meeting would be adjourned until such time as the Interim Committee had completed their task at which time a date would be set for the continuation of the AGM.
- The Interim Committee would comprise the following.
 - Greg Hurly (Chairman)
 - Rosemary Attwell
 - Anthony Evans
 - Rory Bellingan
 - Charles Canning
 - Malcolm Chadwick
 - Andy Dippenaar
 - o Robert du Toit
 - o Gordon Grossett
 - o Joshua Hogg
 - o Ken Mustard
 - o Angus Nixon
 - o Emily Pentz
 - o Grant Scheffel
 - o Rahil Sookdeo

12. Closing

• Greg Hurly thanked everyone for their participation and closed the meeting at 11h50.

Please Note : In the absence of a secretary, the minutes were recorded by Rory Bellingan.