

The Pipe Bands' Association of Southern Africa

Minutes of the continuation of the 43rd Annual General Meeting held Online on Sunday 11 December 2022

Present

Greg Hurly	: PBASA Interim Committee Chairman\Knysna & Districts Pipe Band
Rory Bellingan	: PBASA Interim Committee\African Skye Pipe Band
Malcolm Chadwick	: PBASA Interim Committee\St Benedict's College Pipe Band\
	Transvaal Scottish Pipes & Drums
Andy Dippenaar	: PBASA Interim Committee
Gordon Grossett	: PBASA Interim Committee\Transvaal Scottish Pipes & Drums
Joshua Hogg	: PBASA Interim Committee\De La Salle Pipe Band
Ken Mustard	: PBASA Interim Committee\ King Shaka Regiment Pipe Band
Angus Nixon	: PBASA Interim Committee\Pretoria Boys Pipe Band\
	Pretoria Highlanders Pipes & Drums
Grant Scheffel	: PBASA Interim Committee\Nelson Mandela Pipes & Drums
Brendon Fourie	: Kempton Park Pipe Band
Graeme Fuller	: Durban Caledonian Society Pipe Band
Adrian Haddow	: Knysna & Districts Pipe Band
Graham Hide	: African Skye Pipe Band
Ross Olive	: Jeppe Pipe Band
Apologies	
Chris Mulinder	: PBASA Adjudicators' Panel
Emily Pentz	: PBASA Interim Committee

1. Welcome

- The Chairman, Greg Hurly, opened the meeting at 09h35.
- The adjournment of the AGM held on 30 October 2022 was explained as well as the duties of the Interim Committee in getting to to this point.
- Greg highlighted that the constitution, as it currently stands, will allow the meeting to vote in a new Executive Committee although he did note that the constitution does need an overhaul.
- The Chairman's thanks were extended to the Interim Committee for the work done to date.

2. Relevant Part of Constitution Explanation

• Ken Mustard took the meeting through the relevant parts of the constitution with respect to voting in the new Executive Committee, maximum number of persons per band, and sub-committees.

3. Election of Office Bearers

- The Chairman, Greg Hurly, managed the election process.
- Votes were sent via WhatsApp to Rory Bellingan and Andy Dippenaar for counting and reconciliation.

• President

- o Adrian Haddow
 - Nominated by Kempton Park Pipe Band
 - Seconded by African Skye Pipe Band
- Joshua Hogg
 - Nominated by Pretoria Highlanders Pipes & Drums
 - Seconded by African Skye Pipe Band
- \circ $\:$ Joshua Hogg, on receiving the most votes, was declared President.

• Secretary

- o Grant Scheffel
 - Nominated by African Skye Pipe Band
 - Seconded by Jeppe Pipe Band
- Since no other nominations were received, Grant Scheffel was declared Secretary.

• Treasurer

- o Rory Bellingan
 - Nominated by De La Salle Pipe Band
 - Seconded by St Benedict's Pipe Band
- \circ $\,$ Since no other nominations were received, Rory Bellingan was declared Treasurer.

• Other Members

- The following were all nominated for the five other member positions on the Executive Committee.
 - Charles Canning
 - Malcolm Chadwick
 - Andy Dippenaar
 - Robert du Toit
 - Gordon Grossett
 - Adrian Haddow
 - Angus Nixon
 - Emily Pentz
 - Rahil Sookdeo

- Garnering the most votes, the following were elected to the committee.
 - Charles Canning
 - Malcolm Chadwick
 - Andy Dippenaar
 - Robert du Toit
 - Angus Nixon
- The Chairman noted that the nominees, who were not successful in being elected to committee, should be considered for inclusion in the sub-committees.
 - Gordon Grossett
 - Adrian Haddow
 - Emily Pentz
 - Rahil Sookdeo

4. Closing

• Greg Hurly thanked everyone for their participation and closed the meeting at 10h45.

Please Note : In the absence of a secretary, the minutes were recorded by Rory Bellingan.